#9

24 x 18

A Penny Candy Store by Joseph T. Renaldi

Walking by an old abandoned building

That once housed a penny candy store,

I envisioned all the wide-eyed children

As they gazed at the display of candy galore.

I was saddened by the closure,

And it took me back to the days of yore

When I, too, was spending my pennies

At the neighborhood’s penny candy store.

As a youngster, I stared in disbelief

At all the candy unsurpassed

And often rubbed my fingers unconsciously on

The counter top of highly polished glass.

At the proprietor’s helpful suggestion

I would only remain silent and gape.

The variety of candy caused me to be uncertain

As to what penny candy I would take.

What a thrill to have a penny in my hand?

It is a feeling that I still cherish today.

I was able to go to the penny candy store

To select and buy candy my own way.

Though I may still be indecisive at times

While viewing the niceties by the score,

The thoughts of time tried candy still remain

From the old, neighborhood candy store.

More art by Alexandra Eldridge here.

Recommended listening: Glass in the Park – Alex Turner (Submarine OST) 

Links of the day: Google got swag

Hyperrealistic animals made from painted layers of resin

Leave a Reply

