#63

Ulrike Wathling
Companion by Jo McDougall
When Grief came to visit,
she hung her skirts and jackets
in my closet.
She claimed the only bath.
 
When I protested,
she assured me
it would be for but a little while.
 
Then she fell in love with the house,
repapered the kitchen,
laid green shag carpet in the den.
 
She’s a good listener
and plays a mean game of Bridge.
But it’s been seven years.
 
Once I ordered her outright to leave.
Days later she came back,
weeping.
 
I’d enjoyed my mornings,
coffee for one,
solitary sunsets,
my Tolstoy and Moliere.
 
I asked her in.
 
More art by Ulrike Wathling here.
 
Recommended listening: Life Tourist – Foreign/National
 
 
Leave a Reply

